top of page
  • Writer's pictureDB

Store manager is a bright spark

As a Sparks Card holder, I recently received an email from Marks & Spencer concerning the company's decision to close a number of stores, including the one in High Street, Weston-super-Mare, where I live.


The email told me that they were sorry to be going; that the decision was not taken lightly and that, if I wanted to (because they did, apparently truly value my custom), still drive up the motorway to their Cribbs Causeway store, just north of Bristol (so much for supporting local economies!).


It's bad enough that we're losing the store, which has been a mainstay in the High Street for many, many, years, but the manager then added insult to injury by spelling the name of the town wrong! He had written "Western-Super-Mare", which was like a red rag to a bull to me. It is WestON, not WestERN, and the 'super' always begins with a lower-case 's'.


Since the got the name of the town wrong twice in the same email, I could not resist replying, telling him that I no longer wished to shop at any branch of B&M&S!

Recent Posts

See All

Poetic Pause

The usual Saturday morning BBC Radio Bristol presenter has been away for the past couple of weeks, so there have been no poem subjects set to inspire my weekly witticisms. However, two recent high-pro

New York

The Saturday morning show on BBC Radio Bristol on 8 April 2023 invited poems on the subject of 'New York' so I submitted a bijou-versette, which the presenter said was "a superb piece of poetry". Ahem

Pot-holes

I was rather remiss in not posting my most recent poetic submission to be read out on BBC Radio Bristol's Saturday show. For the April 1 show the presenter invited verses on the theme of Potholes, so

bottom of page