top of page
  • Writer's pictureDB

Tribute to Sir Tom Moore

The Coronavirus pandemic has drawn out examples of the best and worst of humanity. At worst, I've seen dumbfound displays of selfishness and gross stupidity, as people put themselves and others at risk through ignoring advice and guidelines. I attributed their behaviour to an outbreak of MORONavirus.

But we've also seen the very best of humanity, too. None moreso than the amazing Captain-turned-Colonel-turned knight of the realm. Tom Moore.

Way back on May 1, I penned my own tribute to this inspirational man, and thought it was about time I shared it. It is to be read/written to the tune of David Bowie's 'Space Oddity', of course.


Calling out to Colonel Tom

Calling out to Colonel Tom

I salute you, sir, for all that you have done.

Calling out to Colonel Tom

You are the nation's number one

You're a legend and may God's love go with you


I am calling out to Colonel Tom

You've really made the grade

And the papers talk of just how much you've raised

And for all your efforts you are rightly praised

I am calling out to Colonel Tom

You've won the nation's hearts

We're all living in the most peculiar way

And you've made the world a better place today


For here are we living in this lockdown

Praying for the world

How can we be blue

When there's heroes just like you?


You've raised more than thirty million pounds

And I am full of awe

You've inspired so many people on your own

And I want to say you'll never walk a-lone


Calling out to Colonel Tom

We thank you, sir, for all you've done

Can you hear us, Colonel Tom?

Can you hear us, Colonel Tom?

Can you hear us, Colonel Tom?

Can you


Here are we living in this lockdown

Praying for the world

How can we be blue

When there's heroes just like you?


Recent Posts

See All

Poetic Pause

The usual Saturday morning BBC Radio Bristol presenter has been away for the past couple of weeks, so there have been no poem subjects set to inspire my weekly witticisms. However, two recent high-pro

New York

The Saturday morning show on BBC Radio Bristol on 8 April 2023 invited poems on the subject of 'New York' so I submitted a bijou-versette, which the presenter said was "a superb piece of poetry". Ahem

Pot-holes

I was rather remiss in not posting my most recent poetic submission to be read out on BBC Radio Bristol's Saturday show. For the April 1 show the presenter invited verses on the theme of Potholes, so

bottom of page